Swiss Club Thames Valley

 About  Us

The Swiss Choir Thames Valley is a mixed choir. It was formed around 1965 in Mitchell Ontario, by Swiss immigrants who wanted to keep the songs of their homeland alive. They started meeting in the home of one of their members, to practice for their first performance at a Swiss National Day celebration.

The first choir director was Trudy Munz, followed by Yolande Graf,

Katharina Guggisberg, Arnold Egli and Anne Loeffler.

For many years, the choir was a part of the Swiss Club Thames Valley.

In 1994 an independent club was formed under the name of “Swiss Choir Thames Valley”.

Since 1996 the choir is member of NASSA (North American Swiss Singing Alliance) and takes part in the Saengerfests every three years.

Today the choir counts 23 active members. Most of our members are Swiss immigrants who live on farms in Huron and Perth counties.

The repertoire includes folk music as well as sacred music in German, Swiss German, French, Italian, Romantsch and English.

The choir organizes a concert/dance every year and appears at local community events and churches.

We meet every Tuesday at 8:30pm (8:00pm in winter) at the arena in Monkton for choir practice.

Singing practice is always followed by coffee, cake and lots of good jokes!

The Swiss Choir Thames Valley is always looking for new members.

If you like to sing and have fun, feel free to join us anytime.


For information contact:

Joe Egli                           

(519) 393 5099                     or any choir member




Anne Loeffler has directed the Swiss Choir Thames Valley since 2001. Prior to becoming the director, she was a Swiss Choir member and pianist for nine years.

Anne has also accompanied and participated in a variety of other local community music groups and productions.

A professional agrologist by trade, she works and lives near New Hamburg.


Director:  Anne Loeffler


Ruth KunzleLotti Albrecht
Marianne TrachselElisabeth Bolinger
Vreni MuellerSusanne Studhalter
Susi KymMarie-Therese Egli
Vreny Rechsteiner Ursula Hug
Martha RuettimannKlara Keller
 Madeleine Rentsch
Tenors: Basses:
Sepp EgliGotthard Bolinger
Andreas HabeggerHansueli Habegger
Hans HaechlerEdi Hug
 Sepp StudhalterMathias Kunzle
 Kurt Rastdorfer


Passive members:

Arnold Egli

Käthi Hostettler

Friderich Kuebart

 Martha Rust




Executive committee:


Praesident/President:                             Joe Egli

Vizepraesident/Vice President:                Godi Bolinger

Aktuar/Secretary:                                     Madeline Rentsch

Kassier/Treasurer:                                   Andrew Habegger

Beisitzer/Member-at-large:                       Vreni Mueller








Click to add text, images, and other content